Day 14: To Whom It May Concern – LETTER TO AN EX


 

I am sorry we broke up. Really, I am.

Because you were wonderful, maybe even the best I have ever had. Why wouldn’t you be? That’s what drew me to you. But while you were wonderful in your own unique ways, I guess I just wasn’t enough or should I say; the distance was too much. I know 6 months is a very long time without seeing the person you loved. I could endure that but what I didn’t realize was that you couldn’t. You were fragile and I was trying too hard to build you up.

Looking back, I think the fragility was what endeared me to you. Our friends called us the perfect couple; they can’t even believe that we are no longer together. I can, not because I was a cynic and thought you would leave me but because like everything else in life; people always leave, it doesn’t matter whether they want to or not. In the end, they leave.

Up till this day, I still don’t get the real reason why you left; I don’t believe the story about the text. Or maybe I know the real reason and I just don’t want to say it out loud because I like the image of you that I have in my mind and that is the only good thing I have.

I still love you, I can never stop loving you (believe me, I have tried). And even if I find someone else, what I will feel for them will never be as much as what I will always feel for you. It doesn’t matter whether that someone has better qualities than you, there was a way in which you complimented me and made us fit that I don’t think anybody else can ever match. You gave me the best one year of my life and for that I am forever grateful.

I AM TRYING TO FORGET YOU BUT I AM ALSO WAITING FOR YOU TO COME BACK.

4 thoughts on “Day 14: To Whom It May Concern – LETTER TO AN EX

  1. While I like the mustiness of this post, I totally agree with Pearl.
    And I hope for your sake and that of your “present”, that she didn’t read this post.

    Like

    • As of right now, there is no “present”. And i can confidently say I no longer feel that way towards the ex. Writing how i felt back then helped and force me to face the feelings and figure my emotions out. And while it wasn’t fun doing that, I’ve moved on.

      Like

  2. Wahala dot com. I pity the women in your future sha. I’d die if my boyfriend was holding a torch for anyone half this much.

    PS; haven’t seen my man since January. No, it isn’t easy. But it’s him or nothing. I will wait. Another year. And after that comes, another. Only he will do, it’s just that simple.

    I feel this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, there is a woman in my present and she doesn’t know neither will i ever tell her that i still have strong feelings towards my ex.
      It’s easier for me because I’m able to compartmentalize my thoughts and emotions so that one does not dictate how i act on another. I’m more logical than emotional so i’m able to miss my ex while still going about my life like it’s all good

      Like

Say Something

