Day 13: Serially Found – LOST BUT RETRIEVED


This is a part 2 of the post Serially Lost – If Only

“Everyone suffers at least one bad betrayal in their lifetime.
It’s what unites us.
The trick is not to let it destroy your trust in others when that happens.
Don’t let them take that from you.”
Sherrilyn Kenyon

I never thought that I’ll find it again. I had given it to people and they had misused it in the most disrespectful way possible. Yet, whenever the next person came and asked for it, I would give it to them, and then they would do the same thing that others before them had done.

After a while, I started doubting myself, I lost hope in everybody and everything. There was no meaning anymore all because I couldn’t find it in me.

My Trust was gone, betrayed by the very people I had given it to. I cursed myself for ever thinking that the next person would be different from the rest.

So when this person came to me demanding, subtly, that I give it to her, I wondered how I would give something that I no longer have. But it helped that she gave me hers even when I didn’t ask for it and I knew not what to do with it. She gave hers to me and helped me find mine. It wasn’t easy and I almost gave up because of the fear that it would get disrespected again.

It’s been almost 2 years now, and I have to say that I do not regret finding it again and giving ti to her because she has not let me down.

2 thoughts on “Day 13: Serially Found – LOST BUT RETRIEVED

Say Something

