24


A little something to inspire you all. These are the best of quotes that inspires and motivates me to want to be better.
I hope it does the same to you

1. We have to dare to be ourselves, however frightening or strange that self may prove to be.
MARY SARTON

Stumbled on this quote late 2011 and it has kinda been my mantra ever since.

2. In three words, I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life; IT GOES ON.
ROBERT FROST

3. Nothing of me is original. I am the combined efforts of everyone I’ve ever known.
CHUCK PALAHNUIK

4. It is not the strongest of species that survives, nor the most intelligent that survives. It is the one that is most adaptable.
CHARLES DARWIN

5. We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful what we pretend to be.
KURT VONNEGUT

6. What’s meant to be will always find a way.
TRISHA YEARWOOD

7. It’s not the load that breaks you down, it’s the way you carry it.
LON HOLTZ

8. Pain is temporary, Quitting lasts forever.
LANCE ARMSTRONG

9. If you don’t look at the big picture, you’ll get lost in the details.
ANONYMOUS

10. What is inner peace but a deeply held belief that your current situation is exactly as it should be.
ANONYMOUS

11. If you don’t stand for something, you will fall for everything.
ANONYMOUS

12. Life is not fair, get used to it.
CHARLES J. SYKES

13. You can’t get ahead of others if you are trying to get even with them.
ANONYMOUS

14. The best revenge is to be successful, It’s to stay strong and move forward in life, Never stopping, never giving up, never take a step back.
VANGA SRIKANTH

15. Don’t be afraid of death, be afraid of an unlived life. You don’t have to live forever, you just have to live.
NATALIE BABBITT

16. Don’t part with your illusions, for when they are gone, you may still exist but you have ceased to live.
MARK TWAIN

17. The essence of strategy is choosing what not to do.
ANONYMOUS

18. What is hardest to accept about the passage of time is that the people who once mattered the most to us wind up in parentheses.
JOHN IRVING

19. You have power over your mind – not outside events. Realise this and you will find strength.
MARCUS AURELIUS

20. Always remember, your focus determines your reality.
ANONYMOUS

21. There’s room at the top but never enough to sit down.
V.

22. All problems resolve themselves, given time.
V.

23. You can’t get to the top climbing over the dead bodies of your friends.
NELSON ROCKEFELLER

24. Never worry about tomorrow, tomorrow you might inherit a million dollars or be run over by a truck. Or inherit a million dollars and be run over by a truck.
V.

And an extra one;
*** The world belong to the patient man.

10 thoughts on “24

  1. Okay I’m loving this list. But isn’t it strange how the messenger can affect a perfectly good message…I skipped over the Lance Armstrong one.

    The other one I will give a miss is the stand for something one. Whether it’s because I have heard so many people blithely use it without much thought that I’ve lost interest in it or the fact that quite frankly I don’t always want to stand for anything. I just want to sit on the couch and eat ice cream. Sometimes I’m just busy getting through the day is that okay?! (A rhetorical question to the world, not you!) That one is on a par with “I may not agree with what you said but I will fight to the death for your freedom to say it.” Really? – Anyway that first one is great.

    Like

    • Yes, I know how the messenger can mess up a perfectly good message but I don’t believe it takes away any truth from the message if viewed objectively.

      And the other miss you gave, I can relate given that most people say things they don’t mean or understand. Being busy can give us no time at all but what if an issue is thrust in your face? Do you just lean back because you don’t have a stand or you pick a side?

      Like

      • I often have an opinion – can’t decide right now if that is the same as having a stand as such. And you know, it might not be the PC thing to say or do but yes – sometimes I just simply lean back because I know that my shoulders have limited weight that they can take on. I’m not trying to be super human, just practical and honest with myself. I am a perfectionist and if I can’t take on something with interest or energy, then I don’t do it. I’ll sit on the couch and eat that ice cream rather than quote platitudes I don’t mean. And as one of your other quotes said, somehow, life…it goes on.

        He he! I shall enjoy getting into things with you and your posts!

        Like

        • I think having an opinion is almost the same as taking a stand.

          And as for your leaning back with ice scream and letting life go on without doing nothing, I leave you this from DANTE ALLIGIERHI
          The darkest places in hell are reserved for those who
          maintain their neutrality in times of moral crisis.
          .

          You don’t to get into everything, but if you can, just don’t sit back and let others do it.

          I shall also enjoy getiing into ……….

          Like

          • Ah, but there is a difference in spouting inane PC clap trap in times of moral crisis then going about your daily business and actually DOING something. My take is to do or stfu!
            In wanting to DO (or say) something that REALLY galvanizes and makes a difference, I know my hands are occasionally tied because there is only so much I am capable of realistically. I just refuse to beat myself up about it, or swap meaningful solution with soundbite inanities.

            I also happen to think that it is plenty fine to sit back and let others do it. Because in turn when I am doing ‘it’ they can sit back. Why pretend you can be involved in every crisis?
            I guess I’m a doer not a talker. Couple that with my dislike for verbal triteness and there you have it.
            Ice cream. Sofa.
            And the realistic acceptance that I don’t have to take a stand for everything.

            Like

            • Inane PC Clap Trap, you say.

              Need I remind you that those were words of people who had actually made a difference at a time. And the “Clap Trap” were, as I called it, words that could best describe how I live my life or how I aspire to live.
              If everybody that’s doing something jst Stfu like you suggested, how are we ever going to hear their story and be moved to want to do something ourselves.
              Years ago, I would have said I couldn’t do charitable work, but reading “Clap trap” of people who have been there and how they went from here to there gives me the belief that somethings can actually be done.

              You are right, We can’t all be involved in everything. But know that there is a difference between “Beingnot involved in everything” and “Being involved in Nothing”

              Like

            • Hmm, I’m a bit stumped if I’m to be honest. We are both agreeing that the world is round and yet your latest reply is based on things I have not actually said, including schooling me on things I have not remotely implied. I vote we move on and look forward to another topic.

              Like

            • I apologize if I have managed to offend, I tend to do that. All I was merely pointing out was that there’s no harm in being a talker as long as that talk is backed with actions.
              But okay, We move on

              Like

            • You didn’t offend. I just didn’t know how to answer as the convo was not based on what I’ve said. – Do I go back and reiterate what I actually said? Is it worth it over a quote? There are limitations to debate when it’s not face to face I’m beginning to realize – not just with you – and it would be boring just agreeing with people all the time wouldn’t it? Onwards and upwards!

              Like

Say Something

